Working on a publication is teamwork and typically involves many people working on many parts of a layout, including placed content such as articles, images, spreadsheets, and more.
Even when the layout itself is not being worked on, the placed content is constantly updated: articles are reviewed and corrected, while images and artwork are edited and refined.
When a layout is opened, it is important for the designer to know if any of the placed content has been updated so that changes can be made such as adjusting the cropping area of an image or updating the caption of a photo.
By default, when a layout is opened all placed content is updated to the latest available version.
This behavior can be changed so that placed Studio Server files of a particular type are not updated to their latest available version. Layout designers can then verify each change themselves, manually update each file (for example by using the Links panel) and make adjustments when needed.
This article explains how to configure this behavior.
Files that are updated
When the automatic updating is enabled, files are updated. However, this does not apply to all types of files. Exceptions also exist for images, and processes running in the background can also influence the behavior.
Files that are affected
The following types of files are affected by enabling automatic updating:
- Images (but see below)
- Layout Modules
Files that are not affected
The following types of files are not affected by setting this option and are always updated:
- Files that are not stored in Studio Server
- Articles (including components containing an image, inline images, and spreadsheets)
Note: One exception exists for images: when an image is part of an article and also placed outside an article then updating the image is also affected by how the option is set.
When no updates are available
Updating files can of course only be done when an update is actually available. When a user expects to see outdated files but instead only sees updated files, then this can have the following reasons:
- Another user has already opened the layout and updated all content.
- The layout has been processed in the background by the InDesign Server Automation (see below).
InDesign Server Automation
When InDesign Server Automation is enabled, tasks such as generating layout previews is automated and performed by InDesign Server.
This can for example occur each time an image that is stored in Studio Server is changed and checked-in.
Because a layout preview always needs to contain the latest updates, all layout content is updated during this process regardless of how the setting is configured (unless file types are excluded from this process).
When opening a layout therefore after it has gone through such a process, all content will already be updated.
The behavior is controlled through one of the following options:
- A setting in the configserver.php file of Studio Server. This makes it possible to control the behavior on system level. To enable the setting use the value 'true'. When any other value is used — such as 'false' or an empty value — the setting is disabled.
Info: The described step can only be performed on the on-premise version of Studio Server, not on the cloud version.
new Feature( 'UpdateImagesOnOpen', true),
- A setting in the WWSettings.xml file of Studio for InDesign and InCopy. This makes it possible to control the behavior on client level. To enable the setting use the value 'yes', 'y', or 'on'. When any other value is used — such as 'no' — the setting is disabled.
- As an InDesign preference. This makes it possible to control the behavior on user level.
WoodWing Studio > Update Placed Studio Server Files When Opening a Layout
The working of each setting can be affected by another setting:
- When the setting in the configserver.php file or WWSettings.xml file is not set, the InDesign preference is set to On. The user is able to change the preference. This is the default setting.
- When the setting is set in the configserver.php file and/or in the WWSettings.xml file, the InDesign preference is set accordingly. The user is then not able to change the preference.
- When the setting is set in the WWSettings.xml file, any setting set in the configserver.php file is overruled.
This is reflected in the following table:
|configserver option||WWSettings option||Preference||
|Not defined||Not defined||Set to On by default, can be changed by user||
As defined by user
|Defined||Not defined||As defined, can be changed by user||
|Defined or not defined||Defined||As defined in WWSettings, cannot be changed by user||As defined in WWSettings|