In an environment in which Assets Server and Studio Server are integrated, Digital articles are typically archived from Studio Server to Assets Server some time after they have been published in Studio.
When the published article needs to be updated, the original archived article can be restored in Studio Server, edited in Studio, and published again.
This article describes how Digital articles that are archived in Assets can be restored in Studio Server.
One way of restoring Digital articles in Assets is by using the Restore option in the context menu of an article. This option needs to have been made available for the users or user groups who need access.
This can be done in Assets Server by making the following metadata fields available (as part of the Enterprise group):
Restoring a Digital article
A Digital article can be restored to Studio Server in the following ways:
In this process, the article is restored in one action. The structure that is needed in Studio Server for restoring the Digital article and any images that it contains is created automatically.
Step 1. In Assets, locate the Digital article.
Step 2. Right-click the article and from the context menu choose Restore.
The Digital article and any images that it contains is added to a Dossier and opened for editing in Studio in a new Web browser tab.
Note: Some Web browsers may block this action. Depending on your Web browser, an additional step may be needed or settings may have to be changed to show this tab.
Step 3. Verify the properties of the Dossier, the Digital article, and any of the images. Change them when necessary. See The restoring process.
In this process, the article is restored by dragging it from Assets to Studio. Before this can take place, the structure that is needed in Studio Server for restoring the Digital article and any images that it contains needs to be created manually.
Step 1. In Studio, make sure that:
- A Dossier exists in which the Digital article needs to be restored.
- The Dossier is opened.
Step 2. In Assets, locate the Digital article.
Step 3. Drag the article from Assets onto the opened Dossier in Studio.
Step 4. Verify the properties of the Digital article and any of the images. Change them when necessary. See The restoring process.
Step 5. Open the article to edit it.
During the restore action, the following actions take place:
Note: When the original Brand does not exist in Studio Server anymore, the article cannot be restored.
- All restored files are copied from the Archive Zone in Assets Server to the Production Zone in Assets Server.
- The files in the Production Zone are added to Studio Server as a shadow object.
- When using the automatic method, the following actions take place:
- A search is done in Studio Server and Assets Server for the latest revision of the Digital article.
- When a result is found in Studio Server (for example because the article was already restored by another user), that article is opened in Studio; the article in Assets Server is then not restored.
- When a result is found in Assets Server, it may or may not be the article revision that was selected to be restored. In this context, a Dossier is created in Studio Server and the latest Digital article revision and any images that it contains are added to it.
- The files are assigned their original properties as much as possible. Take note of the following:
- When the original Issue does not exist in Studio Server anymore, that Issue is ignored.
- When the original Category does not exist in Studio Server anymore, the files are assigned to the first Category of the Brand.
- The files are assigned to the first Workflow Status available for their file type or optionally a defined Workflow Status.
- The archived files are left untouched in Assets Server.
- 28 July 2020: Added section 'Requirements'.