Sharing files with others is done for many different reasons, including:
- Approving, rejecting or commenting on files internally by editors or externally by clients and customers.
- Letting a production team use them in an upcoming publication.
- Distributing them to internal or external users for their reference (such as documents, presentations or videos).
You share a file by sending a hyperlink (referred to as a 'Shared Link' or 'Share Link') to one or more recipients which they open in a Web browser. This gives them access to only those files in Assets that you want to share.
Figure: Files in Assets (top) and when viewing them in a Shared Link (bottom).
Who you can share the files with
The Shared Link can be sent to anyone, including those that do not exist as a user in Assets. No log-in is required to view the files.
Controlling what users can do with the shared files
You can control whether or not a user can perform the following actions:
- Preview files
- Download files
- Upload new files
- Approve, reject, or comment on files
When one or more files are selected in a Shared Link, the Metadata panel appears showing the metadata information for the files.
The panel contains a group of generally used fields but fields can be added or removed by the system administrator. Note that fields do not appear in Metadata panel when the user who created the Shared Link does not have viewing permission for those fields.
Sharing files and watermarks
To prevent illegal use, a watermark can be added to images. This affects file sharing in the following ways:
- When images show a watermark for the user who shares the files, the option to download the original file cannot be set (this is because that file does not contain the watermark and may therefore not be downloaded).
- When images do not show a watermark for the user who shares the files, a watermark can optionally be added by setting the 'Watermark' option.
Sharing files versus sharing Collections
You can share individual files or Collections. The benefit of using Collections is that when updating the Collection (for example by adding or removing files), the Shared Link is also updated.
Editing Shared Links
Once the Shared Link has been created, you can at any time update the settings such as the name, description and options. Adding or removing files is only possible by sharing a Collection.
Step 1. In the search results panel, select the files or Collection that you want to share and click Share in the menu.
Figure: The Share button in the menu of the search results panel.
Tip: Other ways of accessing the Share option are:
The Share page appears.
Figure: The Share page.
Step 2. Set the options as needed:
Note: Depending on your access rights, you may or may not have access to all options.
|Subject||Enter a short subject.|
|Description||(Optional) Enter a description of the files or leave a message for the recipient.|
|Link valid until||Set the date when the link should expire.|
(Off by default) Add a watermark.
Figure below: an example of how selecting 2 download options (top) appear for the user as options in the Download button (bottom).
|Upload||(Off by default) Select when you want the user to be able to upload files. You can specify a folder by choosing an existing folder or by creating a new folder.|
|Approve||(Off by default.) Select when you want the user to approve or reject a file and to add a comment to the file.|
|Notify by e-mail||
(Off by default.) (Only available when Upload and/or Approve are enabled.)
When files are shared, one or more users can be notified by e-mail when a change is made:
Typically, the recipients of these e-mails are the creator of the Shared Link (when the user is asked to upload files), or a team of users who are involved in a reviewing process.
For each user, enter their e-mail address. Separate multiple e-mail addresses with a comma.
Note: For the content of the e-mail that is sent, see Managing languages in Assets Server.
Step 3. In the bottom right corner of the screen, click Share.
The Share Link is created and presented in a window.
Step 4. Do one of the following:
- Click the link to open it in a Web browser.
- Right-click the link and choose Copy link address from the context menu or click the Copy link button.
Step 5. Share the link in some way, for example by including it in an e-mail that you send to all users who you want to see the files.
When the link is accessed, a Web page opens showing all files that are shared.
Figure: The shared files as the recipients sees them.
Managing Shared Links
Once a Shared Link has been created, you can edit the options of the link, view the link or delete the link.
To see an overview of all Shared Links, click Shared Links in the top right corner next to your avatar.
On the page that appears, select a Shared Link, and use one of the options in the menu: Edit, Delete, or Visit link.
Figure: Click Shared Links in the top right corner to see an overview of all Shared Links.
Tip: To quickly find a Shared Link when many links exist, use the filter on the left.