WoodWing Help Center

Adding a user to a Brand in Enterprise Server 10

Adding a user to a Brand in Enterprise Server 10

When users want to use Content Station, Smart Connection or any other application that is based on Enterprise Server, they need to be added to at least one Brand that is set up on that server.

Adding a user to a Brand is done by making that user part of a user group and assigning that group to the Brand.

This is accomplished by setting up an Authorization Rule: a combination of a Category, Workflow Status and an Access Profile. Together, they define what actions a user is allowed to perform on a file while that file is part of that Category and Workflow Status combination.

Typically, multiple Authorization Rules are set up: one for each specific scenario.

The total 'result' of all these Authorization Rules eventually defines what a user is allowed to do (and thereby what a user is not allowed to do).

Example: An Authorization Rule could for instance look as follows:

Category 'Finance' + Status 'Ready for Publishing' + Profile 'Publishing' (in which the functionality of publishing is enabled).

This means that when a user group is added under this rule, users of this group can publish any files that belong to Category 'Finance' and that are set to a Status of 'Ready for Publishing'. Files that belong to another Category or Status cannot be published, as long as this is not defined in any subsequent Rules that apply to that user group.

Note: As the first step in setting up your authorizations, we strongly advise to analyze your workflow, user groups, and the required access control on paper.

Before you start

Before a user can be added to a Brand, the following needs to be in place:

Steps to follow

Step 1. Add the user to the user group.

See Adding a user account to a user group.

Step 2. Add the user group to the Brand:

Step 2a. On the Brand Maintenance page, click Add in the User Authorizations section.

The User Authorizations screen

Figure: The User Authorizations section on a Brand Maintenance page.

The Authorization Maintenance page appears.

Note: The working of this page has changed since Enterprise Server 10.1. It is assumed here that you are using version 10.1 or higher.

The Authorization Maintenance page

Step 2b. From the User Groups list, choose the user group that needs to be added.

Step 2c. Click Add Authorization.

A box showing all available Categories, Workflow Statuses and Access Profiles appears. By default, all Categories and Workflow Statuses are selected.

Authorization Maintenance page after clicking Add

The aim here is to define combinations of Categories and Workflow Statuses that share the same Access Profile(s).

Step 2d. Select or clear check boxes in the Categories and Status lists and select one or more Access Profiles that they should have assigned.

Step 2e. Click Save.

The box is collapsed to make the page easier to read.

A single row collapsed

Step 2f. Continue adding combinations of Categories, Workflow Statuses and Access Profiles for each user group. Use the Copy button to base a new combination on an existing one and to subsequently modify it.

Multiple rows collapsed

Document history

  • 2 November 2016: Added information about setting up Authorization Rules in Enterprise Server 10.1 and higher.
Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful / Created: / Updated:
Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.