WoodWing Help Center

Managing user accounts in Enterprise Server 10

Managing user accounts in Enterprise Server 10

Creating a user account

Note: This process describes how to manually create a user account. When LDAP or Active Directory are integrated, user accounts can be created automatically. See LDAP integration.

When users want to use Content Station, Smart Connection or any other application that is based on Enterprise, they need to log in to Enterprise Server first. Each user therefore needs to have a user account set up in Enterprise.

Note: All names and log-in names of users are all mutually exclusive (meaning: you cannot use a name for a user group if that name is already used for a user account). Enterprise will warn you if you try to create users with the same name as a user group or vice versa. You may want to plan in advance how to name your users and/or user groups.

Step 1. Access the Overview of Users page.

A page showing all created user accounts appears.

The Overview of Users page

Figure: The Overview of Users page shows all created user accounts.

Note: When LDAP is integrated in Enterprise Server, an additional column named 'Assigned to User Groups' is shown.

Step 2. Click New User.

The User Maintenance page appears.

The User Maintenance page

Figure: The User Maintenance page is used for setting up the user account.

Step 3. Fill out all details. As a minimum, the following fields need to be filled out:

  • User
  • Full Name
  • New Password
  • E-mail

Step 4. Click Update.

The user is added to the system. Before the account can be used, it needs to be added to a user group. See Adding a user account to a user group.

Copying a user account

When you need to create a new user account with settings that are identical to an already existing account you can create a copy of that account to use as a starting point. The settings that are copied include certain fields as well as all user groups that the account belongs to.

Step 1. Access the Overview of Users page.

Step 2. Click Copy User at the bottom of the page.

The Copy User page appears.

Step 3. From the Source User list, choose the user from which the settings need to be copied.

Step 4. Fill out the remaining fields on the page.

Step 5. Click Copy User.

The user is added to the system. Before the account can be used, it needs to be added to a user group. See Adding a user account to a user group.

Updating a user account

Step 1. Access the Overview of Users page.

Step 2. Click on the name of the user in the User column.

The User Maintenance page for that user appears.

Step 3. Make the necessary changes.

Step 4. Click Update.

Adding a user account to a user group

Before a user account can be used, it needs to be added to a user group. This can be done in the following ways:

  • From the user account
  • From the user group account

Adding a user to a group from the user account

Step 1. Access the Overview of User Groups page.

Step 2. Click on the name of the user group in the User Group column.

The User Group Maintenance page for that group appears.

Step 3. In the User Groups section, click Add User.

A page appears with a list containing all users which do not yet belong to the group.

Step 4. Select one or more users.

Step 5. Click Add.

The user is added to the user group and the User Group Maintenance page appears again, with the added user(s) included in the Users list.

Adding a user to a group from the user group account

Step 1. Access the Overview of User Groups page.

Step 2. Click on the name of the user group in the User Group column.

The User Group Maintenance page for that group appears.

Step 3. In the User Groups section, click Add User.

A page appears with a list containing all users which do not yet belong to the group.

Step 4. Select one or more users.

Step 5. Click Add.

The user is added to the user group and the User Group Maintenance page appears again, with the added user(s) included in the Users list.

Removing a user account from a user group

Removing a user account from a user group can be done in the following ways:

  • From the user account
  • From the user group account

Removing from the user account

Step 1. Access the Overview of Users page.

Step 2. Click on the name of the user in the User column.

The User Maintenance page for that user appears.

Step 3. In the User Groups section, click Delete for the user group from which the user needs to be removed.

A message appears asking you to confirm the action.

Step 5. Click OK.

The user is removed from the group and the list is updated to reflect this change.

Removing from the user group account

Step 1. Access the Overview of User Groups page.

Step 2. Click on the name of the user group in the User Group column.

The User Group Maintenance page for that group appears.

Step 3. In the Users section, click Delete for the user that needs to be removed from the group.

A message appears asking you to confirm the action.

Step 5. Click OK.

The user is removed from the group and the list is updated to reflect this change.

Removing a user account

Note: The following actions will completely remove a user account from the system. An alternative method of denying a user access from the system is to deactivate the account. See Deactivating user accounts versus removing user accounts.

Step 1. Access the Overview of Users page.

Step 2. Click on the name of the user in the User column.

The User Maintenance page for that user appears.

Step 3. Click Delete.

A message appears asking you to confirm the action.

Step 5. Click OK.

The user is removed from the system and the Overview of Users page appears again.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful / Created: / Updated:
Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.