Logo Help Center

Deactivating user accounts versus removing user accounts in Enterprise Server 9

Deactivating user accounts versus removing user accounts in Enterprise Server 9

When users leave the company, their access to the system needs to be denied. This can be done by removing their user account but if the user returns at some later stage (which can be the case for contract workers), this would mean that the account needs to be set up from scratch again.

Enterprise therefore offers the following methods of dealing with such scenarios:

  • Removing the user account altogether
  • Deactivating the user account indefinitely
  • Making the user account active for a period of time only

Removing the user account

If it is certain that the user account is never going to be used again, it can be removed from the system altogether.

Step 1. Access the Overview of Users page.

Step 2. Click on the name of the user in the User column.

The User Maintenance page for that user appears.

Step 3. Click Delete.

A message appears asking to confirm the action.

Step 4. Click OK.

The account is removed.

Deactivating the user account

When it is known that the user will need to be given access to the system at some point in the future, the user account can be deactivated. The advantage of this is that the account remains in the system including all links to the user groups it belongs to. These then don't have to be set up again once the user needs to be given access again.

Step 1. Access the Overview of Users page.

Step 2. Click on the name of the user in the User column.

The User Maintenance page for that user appears.

Step 3. Select the check box Deactivated.

Step 4. Click Update.

Making the user account active for a period of time only

As an alternative to manually deactivating a user account, you can also specify a time frame in which the account should be active. When passed, the account is automatically deactivated.

Step 1. Access the Overview of Users page.

Step 2. Click on the name of the user in the User column.

The User Maintenance page for that user appears.

Step 3. In the Valid From field, enter the date from which the account should be active. Use the following format: dd-mm-yyyy.

Note: If left blank, the user’s account will be activated immediately.

Step 4. In the Valid Till field, enter the date of the last day that the account should be active. Use the following format: dd-mm-yyyy.

Note: If left blank, the user’s account will be not be deactivated automatically.

Step 5. Click Update.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful / Created: / Updated:
Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.