When working on a file, folder, or Collection in Assets that is not needed anymore, it can be moved to the Trash Can. From there, it can either be manually permanently deleted or it can be restored to its original location within 30 days, after which it is automatically deleted.
This article describes how to delete and restore files, folders, and Collections in Assets.
Note: For information about restoring (reverting) a version of a file, see Working with file versions and file history in Assets 10.
Accessing
To access the Trash Can, click the Trash Can icon in the toolbar in the top right corner.
The Trash Can
When moving one or more files, folders, or Collections to the Trash Can, they are treated as a 'batch' that can subsequently be restored or deleted.
The Trash Can shows these batches in list view, with the batch that was moved to the Trash Can most recently at the top.
Batches that are older than today are presented in groups such as 'yesterday', 'this week', or 'older than 7 days'.
|
Notes:
|
Figure: The Trash Can treats each 'Move to Trash Can action' as a 'batch'. Here, one batch of 2 files and multiple batches of 1 file exist. Each can be restored or permanently deleted.
Moving files or folders to the Trash Can
Note: Folders that contain no files (including empty nested folders) are immediately permanently deleted; they do not appear in the Trash Can.
Step 1. Select one or more files, folders, and /or Collections anywhere in Assets, and do one of the following:
- Right-click a selected file, folder, or Collection and choose Move to Trash Can from the context menu.
- Use the keyboard shortcut Alt+Shift+D.
A dialog appears informing you what is about to happen and asking you to confirm the action.
Step 2. Click Move to Trash Can.
The files are moved to the Trash Can.
Note: Files, folders, or Collections can be manually restored within a period of 30 days from the moment they have been moved to the Trash Can. Once the 30 days have passed, they are automatically permanently deleted.
Deleting files or folders
Warning: This action permanently deletes files from the system. Once deleted, they cannot be restored.
|
Notes:
|
Step 1. Select the batches that you want to permanently delete.
Step 2. Click Delete and confirm the action.
The batches with their files and / or folders are deleted.
Restoring files or folders
In the Trash Can, select the batches that you want to restore, and click Restore.
The batches with their files and / or folders are immediately restored.
Comments
0 comments
Please sign in to leave a comment.