Logo Help Center

Managing licenses in Enterprise Server 9

Managing licenses in Enterprise Server 9

Activating the Enterprise Server license for the first time

Choose the activation method:

Activating client licenses

For the client applications (Content Station and the Smart Connection plug-ins for InDesign and InCopy), the process of registering a license is dependent on the type of license used.

Note: Licenses for Content Station are always concurrent licenses; licenses for the Smart Connection plug-ins are always seat-based.

Seat-based licenses are activated client side through the activation wizard or through an activation file to activate without user interference. No additional steps on the server are required. (For more information, see Activating Smart Connection 9.)

Concurrent client licenses require an additional activation step on the server, using the same licensing screens as the server connections.

To activate a concurrent client license, follow these steps:

Step 1. Access the License Status page.

Step 2. Click the link Add Additional Client Licenses.

The Activate page appears.

Step 3. Activate your license by choosing one of the following methods:

Activating additional licenses

Step 1. Access the License Status page.

Step 2. Click the Activate More button for the application for which additional licenses need to be activated.

Step 3. Activate your license by choosing one of the following methods:

Deactivating licenses

Note: Deactivating licenses requires an active Internet connection.

Step 1. Access the License Status page.

Step 2. Click the Deactivate button for the license that needs to be deactivated.

The Deactivate page appears.

Step 3. Use one of the following methods:

  • Enter a number less than the maximum connections to reduce the connections
  • Enter the maximum number of connections to remove the license completely

Step 4. Click Next.

After the changes have been processed, a screen appears informing that the process has been completed successfully.

Note: After you have deactivated a license, it becomes available to be activated again on a different system .

Removing connections

When the maximum number of concurrent users has been reached, connections can be freed by forcefully removing tickets (one ticket equals one client application with which a user is logged in).

Step 1. Access the License Status page.

Step 2. Click the Remove tickets to log-off users link.

Note: This link only appears when the concurrent users limit has been reached. Its functionality can only be used when logged in as administrator.

The License Usage page appears. This page is divided into two sections: the top half allows you to remove connections, the bottom half is the regular License Status page.

Step 3. Choose the method to remove the connection:

Removing licenses

When a license becomes invalid, Enterprise will prompt you through a message on the License Status page to remove the license completely.

Caution: When performing this action, you will remove all licenses on the system. Note that it is better to deactivate licenses first, if possible. If the license is not deactivated first, the WoodWing Activation Server will not be notified and activating the license later may result in a limited number of concurrent connections or users.

Step 1. Access the License Status page.

Sep 2. Click Remove License.

The Remove License page appears.

Step 3. Click Remove.

The license will be removed and on successful removal a confirmation message will display.

Manually renewing licenses

In case of a subscription license, it is required that the Enterprise server can access the WoodWing Activation server over the Internet. After activation of a subscription license, Enterprise is typically activated for 60 days. When the end of this period is approaching, Enterprise server will contact the WoodWing Activation server to obtain a renewal. In case this fails — for example because no Internet connection is available or a payment has not been made ­— Enterprise Server will keep on trying once per day. If renewal has not been taken care of one week before expiration, the users will get a message when logging in (this to prevent a sudden expiration). The manual renew option allows a system admin to perform the renewal when the automatic renewal has failed.

Step 1. Access the License Status page.

Step 2. Click the Deactivate button for the license that needs to be deactivated.

The Deactivate page appears.

Step 3. Use one of the following methods:

  • Enter a number less than the maximum connections to reduce the connections
  • Enter the maximum number of connections to remove the license completely

Note: In case of multiple concurrent users, it is sufficient to only deactivate one connection.

Step 4. Click Next.

After the changes have been processed, the Install License page appears with the message that the License is installed successfully.

Step 5. Return to the License Status page to verify that the remaining concurrent users are indeed renewed.

Various issues when (de-)activating licenses

When activating or de-activating licenses using the License Status page in Enterprise Server, various issues may occur ranging from incorrect error messages to licenses not being displayed.

We have found that these issues can be caused by specific Web browsers.

When coming across such errors therefore, first try using the License Status page by using a different Web browser.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful / Created: / Updated:
Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.