Sharing files with others is done for many different reasons, including:
- Approving, rejecting or commenting on files internally by editors or externally by clients and customers.
- Letting a production team use them in an upcoming publication.
- Distributing them to internal or external users for their reference (such as documents, presentations or videos).
You share a file by sending a hyperlink (referred to as a 'Shared Link') to someone. This hyperlink gives that person access to only those files in Swivle that you share.
Figure: Files when viewing them in a Shared Link.
This article explains how to share files using Swivle.
Info: Files can also be shared by using the Brand portal of Swivle, such as by using a public or password protected Portal. For more information, see Sharing files using a public or password protected Portal in Swivle.
Who you can share the files with
The Shared Link can be sent to anyone, including those that do not exist as a user in Swivle. No log-in is required to view the files.
Controlling what users can do with the shared files
You can control whether or not a user can perform the following actions:
- Preview files
- Download files
- Upload new files
- Approve files
Sharing files versus sharing Collections
You can share individual files or Collections. The benefit of using Collections is that when updating the Collection (for example by adding or removing files), the Shared Link is also updated. When sharing individual files, the set of shared files cannot be changed.
Editing Shared Links
Once the Shared Link has been created, you can at any time update the settings such as the name, description and options. Adding or removing files is only possible by sharing a Collection.
Creating the Share Link
Step 1. Select the files or Collection that you want to share and click Share in the menu.
Tip: Other ways of accessing the Share option are:
The Share page appears.
Figure: The Share page before filling in all the details.
Step 2. Set the options as needed:
|Enter a short subject.
|(Optional) Enter a description of the files or leave a message for the recipient.
|Link valid until
Set the date when the link should expire.
Note: By default this time period is set to 30 days (configurable by the system administrator).
Select what the users can download or how they can download it:
|(Off by default) Select when you want the user to be able to upload files. You can specify a folder by choosing an existing folder or by creating a new folder.
|(Off by default.) Select when you want the user to approve or reject a file and to add a comment to the file.
Step 3. In the bottom right corner of the screen, click Share.
The Share Link is created and presented in a window.
Step 4. Do one of the following:
- Click the link to open it in the Web browser.
- Right-click the link and choose Copy link address from the context menu or click the Copy link button (note: the 'Copy link' button is not available in Safari).
Step 5. Share the link in some way, for example by including it in an e-mail that you send to all users who you want to see the files.
When the link is accessed, a Web page opens showing all files that are shared.
Managing Shared Links
Once a Shared Link has been created, you can edit the options of the link, view the link or delete the link.
Note: System administrators can also manage the duration of the time period during which the Shared Link can be accessed.
To see an overview of all Shared Links, click Shared Links in the top right corner next to your avatar.
On the page that appears, select a Shared Link, and use one of the options in the menu: Edit, Delete, or Visit link.
Use the filter on the left to quickly find the Shared Link you want to manage.