Let op: Er bestaat voor dit artikel geen versie in het Nederlands.
Hieronder vindt u de originele Engelstalige versie van dit artikel.
Portals in Assets are used for promoting specific material such as brochures and products.
Portals make (part of) an archive in Assets available for colleagues, partners, resellers, or clients. Visitors to the Portal can search through the files and folders that have been made available and download or share the relevant material, all in an intuitive and easy to use interface.
This can all be done without the need for a license or user account, although access can optionally be locked behind a password.
This article describes how to use a Portal.
Figure: A branded Portal.
Accessing a Portal
A Portal is accessed in a web browser using a link that has been provided to you, for example in an internal communication, an e-mail sent out to partners or clients, and so on.
No license or user account is needed, although it may require a password if it has been locked that way. In that case, you will first see a Welcome page with an option to log in.
Figure: A branded log in page for the Portal.
The Portal page
The following overview shows the components of the Portal page.
- (Optional) The menu shows links to Promotions (folders) when these have been made available.
- The search bar is used for searching for files.
- (Optional) A header image and text explain the type of content that has been made available.
- (Optional) Promotions highlight content such as newly released products, upcoming or current events, and so on. They are also listed in the menu. On the main page, they show a short description and an option for downloading the content of the folder without first having to open the folder.
- Files that have been recently uploaded or most downloaded are shown for quick access. Click See all to show all files in that section.
- The toolbar contains options for opening the Saved files panel for processing multiple files, for toggling dark mode on or off, and for accessing the Settings menu.
File actions
The preview of a file has options for performing the following actions:
- Fullscreen preview. This option appears when hovering the mouse pointer over the thumbnail.
- Download. Downloads the original of the file.
- Download as. Shows options for a custom download (when made available), or for downloading a preview.
- Share. Creates a link to the file which can be shared with other users (see Sharing files)
- Save. Saves the file to the Saved files panel. Used for performing actions on multiple files (see Processing multiple files).
Search result actions
When opening a promotion, performing a search, or clicking 'see all' on the home page, the files are shown on a search results page.
Figure: The search results page when opening a promotion.
The following actions can be performed on this page:
- Sorting and sorting order. Files are by default sorted by name, but can also be sorted on other properties. Choose the property that the files should be sorted on from the menu. Click the arrow next to it to change the sorting order.
- Filtering. Click the Filtering button to the right of the sorting options to open the Filtering panel. Use it to filter the results by file type, tag, and/or file size.
- Download, Download as, Share, Save. These are the same options as in the thumbnail of a file. See File actions.
Processing multiple files
When you have found multiple files to download or share, you can 'save' them by clicking the heart icon for each file. From the Saved files panel, you can then download or share these files in one action, instead of doing that individually for each file.
Step 1. For each file that you want to process in bulk, click its heart icon. The icon turns red and a notification is shown that the file has been saved.
Step 2. In the top right corner, click the heart icon, next to the settings icon.
The Saved files panel appears, showing all files that were saved.
Step 3. Select the files that you want to process and use the options to download or share them.
Step 4. (Optional) To remove the saved status from all files, click Remove All.
Sharing files
The files that are made available in the Portal can be easily shared with others.
This is done by sending a hyperlink (referred to as a 'Shared Link') to the recipient. This hyperlink gives that recipient access to only the shared files.
The Shared Link can be sent to anyone, including those that do not exist as a user in Assets. No log in is required to view the files.
Shared Links are by default set to end 30 days after the creation date, but this duration can be changed by the system administrator.
Step 1. In the thumbnail for a file click the Share icon, or in the Save files panel select the files you want to share and click Share all.
Note: The option to share files can be disabled by the system administrator. When this is the case, the share options are grayed out.
The URL of the Shared Link is generated and shown in a dialog.
Step 2. Click Copy link to copy the link to the clipboard.
Step 3. Share the link in for instance an e-mail, or chat message.
When accessing the link, the shared files can be easily downloaded.
Changing settings
Use the Settings menu in the top right corner to change the language or font size in which the page is displayed, send feedback, or access the Help Center.
The other options are more aimed at using the main version of Assets 10.
Opmerkingen
0 opmerkingen