Access Profiles are sets of Access Rights: rules for allowing or denying users from doing the following:
- Using specific features in Content Station, Smart Connection, InDesign, and InCopy.
- Performing specific tasks on files.
Example: An access right exists for controlling whether or not a user can access the Planning application in Content Station, another for controlling whether or not a user can delete a file, and so on.
How are Access Profiles used?
Different users of the system have different roles: some users only contribute content, designers need to work on many different types of files at once, while others have a managerial role.
Each of these groups require a different set of rules stipulating what they can and cannot do in the system ranging from restrictive to full access. This is accomplished by creating a specific Access Profile that matches the role of the group.
How are Access Profiles assigned?
Access Profiles are assigned on Brand level in combination with a user group, a Category and a Workflow status.
Category and Workflow Status can be used so that a user is allowed to work on a file as long as it is in a particular Category and/or Workflow Status but denied from working on the file as soon as that file moves to a different Category and/or Workflow Status.
Example: Imagine a production process where all contributors should be able to work on all files but as soon as the content reaches a status where it is ready for publication, access should be made available to editors only so that no unwanted changes can be made.
Do you have corrections or additional information about this article? Leave a comment! Do you have a question about what is described in this article? Please contact Support.
Please sign in to leave a comment.