Placing a file from Elvis onto a layout in InDesign with Smart Connection installed is one of the ways of adding files from Elvis to the Enterprise workflow.
When doing so, one of two actions can take place:
- The file is automatically added to Enterprise
- The file is not automatically added to Enterprise but can be added manually if needed
In addition, the file also needs to be made part of a Dossier.
This article describes how to control which action takes place.
For more detailed information about performing these actions, see Adding Elvis 6 images to InDesign with Smart Connection installed.
Controlling these actions requires the following to be installed:
- Smart Connection for Adobe CC 2014 (version 10.2.6 or higher), Smart Connection for Adobe CC 2015 (version 11.0.5 or higher), or any higher version of Smart Connection.
- The Elvis InDesign client plug-in version 3.1.0 or higher
Controlling the method to use
When adding an Elvis image through InDesign, by default it is automatically added to Enterprise.
Enabling or disabling this is done by the following:
- Modifying the WWSettings.xml file (for system administrators)
- Changing the preferences (for InDesign users)
Modifying the WWSettings.xml file
This method is for system administrators who want to make sure that users use a specific method. When setting the method through the WWSettings.xml file, the corresponding Preference in InDesign (see below) is disabled, thereby preventing InDesign users from changing the setting.
Add the following line to the WWSettings.xml file:
- /Library/Application Support/WoodWing
Note: This folder is hidden by default. To display this folder, change the folder options. (See the Windows Help file.)
To enable automatic adding, set Automatic to "yes"; to disable it, set it to "no".
Important: Make sure to validate the WWSettings.xml file for correct content. See Validating the WWSettings.xml file.
Changing the Preference
In InDesign, set the following preference to your needs:
Smart Connection > Automatically Add Placed Elvis Images to Enterprise
Note: When the system administrator has configured the setting through the WWSettings.xml file, the Preference cannot be changed.