WoodWing Help Center

Configuring if articles in Content Station 10 should be saved automatically or manually

Configuring if articles in Content Station 10 should be saved automatically or manually

When an article in Content Station 10 is opened for editing, at some point it needs to be saved and closed.

Content Station 10 offers two ways of doing this:

  1. Auto save. In this default method articles are automatically saved and checked-in.
  2. Manual check-in. In this more restricted method the user needs to manually check-in the article.

Both methods are explained in more detail below.

Auto save

This is the default setting of Content Station 10 in which the user can focus on editing the article while Content Station takes care of automatically saving the changes. When done, the only action that the user needs to perform for example is to send it to another user or Workflow Status.

With Auto Save enabled, Content Station 10 works as follows:

  • The article is automatically saved a few seconds after making changes to the article.
  • When no changes are made to the article for a longer period of time, the article is automatically checked-in so that it is available for other users to edit.
  • The Action button 1 for the article defaults to 'Send To' for automatically checking-in the article and sending it to another user. Additional options can be accessed in the menu of the button.
  • When navigating out of the editor while changes are not yet saved, the article is automatically checked-in.

1 Available in Content Station 10.8 and higher.

For more information, see Working with articles in Content Station 10.

Manual check-in

This method is typically used in a traditional check-in / check-out workflow where specific properties need to be set when checking in the article (such as the Workflow Status).

With Manual Check-in enabled, Content Station 10 works as follows:

  • The article is never automatically saved.
  • The article needs to be manually saved by checking-in the article or by manually saving a version. When checking in the article, it is also closed.
  • The Action button 1 for the article defaults to 'Check In'. Additional options can be accessed in the menu of the button.
  • When navigating out of the editor while changes are not yet saved, users are informed that any changes will be lost should they continue without first saving these changes.

1 Available in Content Station 10.8 and higher.

For more information, see Working with articles in Content Station 10.

Configuration

Info: This feature requires Content Station 10.8 or higher.

This functionality is controlled through an option in the configserver.php file of Enterprise Server. It disables the default auto save functionality.

  • File: configserver.php file
  • Name of option: ContentStationDisableEditorAutoSave
  • Location: Server Features
  • Example:

new Feature( 'ContentStationDisableEditorAutoSave' ),

Enabling manual check -in

To make use of the manual check-in feature, make sure that the option is added to the configserver.php file.

Enabling auto save

To make use of the auto save feature, make sure that the option is not added to the configserver.php file.

Note: By default, the option is not added: auto save works out of the box. If you have never added the option, no steps need to be undertaken to make use of auto save.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful / Created: / Updated:
Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.