WoodWing Help Center

Working with different versions of a file in Elvis 4

Working with different versions of a file in Elvis 4

Elvis creates new versions whenever a file is checked in, either through the desktop client or with Elvis InDesign client or updated through the API. Versions can be viewed in Bridge and other Creative Suite applications. Viewing and managing versions is primarily done in the desktop client, where versions can be reviewed, promoted, removed or saved as a new file.

The amount of versions and the way old versions are automatically cleaned up is completely configurable.

Management

Managing and comparing versions is done in the history tab in the desktop client.

Storage

Warning: All files in the Elvis Data and Elvis Hot Data folders are not to be modified directly. All operations should be performed through the Elvis server, using Elvis clients or the API.

In Elvis 3.0 a new folder has been added to the Elvis Data folder: versionFilestore. It contains a directory structure similar to the mainFilestore and previewFilestore, with folders using the same name as the files they are for. Each of these folders contains a number of subfolders, one for each version. Each subfolder contains the original file for the file and it's thumbnail and previews.

Important: Make sure the versionFilestoreLocation is on the same volume as the mainFilestoreLocation and the previewFilestoreLocation to prevent poor performance.

versionFilestoreLocation=${dataLocation}/versionFilestore

The Elvis Hot Data folder has an additional versionIndex that stores the metadata for each of the versions.

The current version of an asset is stored in the mainFilestore, previewFilestore and assetIndex just as before.

Version cleanup

By default the last five versions are kept, as well as versions with the metadata field 'Keep version' set to 'true'. Cleanup of old versions is executed on file check in, or can be configured to run at specific times as a schedule plug-in.

This behavior can be configured in detail, see below. It is possible to change version cleanup behavior depending on, for example:

  • Number of versions saved
  • Version age
  • File type:
  • Keep more versions for office documents
  • Keep a few versions for images
  • Keep only one previous version for videos

Version cleanup filter query

Cleaning up of versions is controlled by a version cleanup filter query. All versions that match this query will be removed from the server. The cleanup is performed after every check in, and every time the internal "version cleanup" schedule plug-in runs.

Note: This query supports all normal search engine query syntax, but it executes on the version index, which means metadata might be outdated. For example, the assetPath stored in the version index is not updated when assets are moved.

Warning: Be careful, if you do not understand what you're doing, creating an incorrect query results in unwanted deleted versions.

This is the default version cleanup filter query, it will:

  • Keep the last 5 versions
  • Keep all versions marked with keepVersion:true

versionCleanupFilter=versionNumberDelta:[* TO -6] AND NOT keepVersion:true

This filter:

  • Removes versions older than 1 year
  • Keeps the last 5 versions
  • Keeps versions that were 'created' in the last month
  • Keeps versions with keepVersion set to true

versionCleanupFilter=(assetFileModified:[* TO NOW-1YEAR] OR versionNumberDelta:[* TO -6]) AND NOT versionBackupCreated:[NOW-1MONTH TO *] AND NOT keepVersion:true

This filter:

  • Keeps the last 5 versions
  • Does not keep versions for video files
  • Always keeps the first version
  • Keeps versions with keepVersion set to true

versionCleanupFilter=(versionNumberDelta:[* TO -6]) OR assetDomain:video) AND NOT versionNumber:1 AND NOT keepVersion:true

This filter:

  • Doesn't keep any versions

versionCleanupFilter=*:*

Removing versions on promote

To save some disk space, you can turn on the option to remove versions when they are promoted to the current version. By default, this is set to false, which means the original version is kept.

removeVersionOnPromote=false

Advanced settings

Below follows a list of advanced configuration settings.

Warning: Changing advanced configuration values is at your own risk. Please consult support@woodwing.com before changing any values that are not in the default config.properties.txt.

To change any of these, add them in <Config>/config.properties.txt on the server.

#------------------------------------------------------------------------------
#
# Version management configuration
#
#------------------------------------------------------------------------------

#
# Set to true to remove a version when it is promoted to current asset.
#
# Setting this to true will save some disk space since the current asset is
# identical to the promoted version, apart from the embedded metadata.
#
# By default this is set to false to prevent confusing users when their
# just promoted version is no longer available.
#
removeVersionOnPromote=false

#
# Version cleanup filter query
#
# All versions that match this query will be removed. The cleanup is performed
# after every check-in, and every time the internal 'version_cleanup' schedule-
# plug-in runs.
# 
# 
# The default filter will:
# - keep the last 5 versions
# - keep all versions marked with keepVersion:true
#
# This query supports all normal search engine query syntax, it executes on
# the version index though, which means metadata might be old. For example,
# the assetPath stored in the version index is not updated when and asset is
# moved.
#
# Below are a few more advanced examples, don't hesitate to ask us for help
# if you want to use a custom versionCleanupFilter.
#
# - remove versions older than 1 year
# - keep the last 5 versions
# - keep versions that were 'created' in the last month
# - keep versions with keepVersion set to true
#
# versionCleanupFilter=(assetFileModified:[* TO NOW-1YEAR] OR versionNumberDelta:[* TO -6]) AND NOT versionBackupCreated:[NOW-1MONTH TO *] AND NOT keepVersion:true
#
#
# - keep the last 5 versions
# - do not keep versions for video files
# - always keep first version
# - keep versions with keepVersion set to true
# 
# versionCleanupFilter=(versionNumberDelta:[* TO -6]) OR assetDomain:video) AND NOT versionNumber:1 AND NOT keepVersion:true
#
#
versionCleanupFilter=versionNumberDelta:[* TO -6] AND NOT keepVersion:true
Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful / Created: / Updated:
Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.