When opening a layout from the Smart Connection panel in InDesign, the default behavior is that for all files that are placed on it, the latest version is retrieved from Enterprise.
In scenarios where a large number of files have been placed, this can sometimes result in long waiting times.
Enabling the following option makes sure that placed files are not updated when the layout is opened; instead, a message appears asking whether the links should be updated or not.
- File: WWSettings.xml file
- Name of option: SkipUpdateLinks
- Location: anywhere between the
Important: Make sure to validate the WWSettings.xml file for correct content. See Validating the WWSettings.xml file.