Logo Help Center

Opening and closing articles in InDesign using Smart Connection

Opening and closing articles in InDesign using Smart Connection

While working on a placed article in InDesign, you can:

Info: The information presented here applies to the following versions of Smart Connection:

  • Smart Connection 9
  • Smart Connection for Adobe CC
  • Smart Connection for Adobe CC 2014

Opening an article for editing (check-out)

An article that is stored in Enterprise and placed on the layout needs to be checked-out before it can be edited in InDesign. This unlocks the article for you but locks it for other users so that they cannot make any changes to the article until you have checked it in again.

Step 1. Select the article by:

  • Selecting one of the frames of the article on the layout
  • Selecting the article or one of its components in the Elements panel

Step 2. Check-out the article by doing one of the following:

  • Choose Smart Connection > Check Out Article.
  • Click the Check Out Article button in the Elements panel.
  • From the flyout menu of the Elements panel, choose Check Out Article.
  • Right-click an article or article component in the Elements panel and choose Check Out Article from the context menu.
  • Right-click the text frame on the layout and choose Check Out Article.

Opening all articles simultaneously

To open all placed articles in one action, click the 'Check Out All Articles' button in the Elements panel. No articles or frames need to be selected for this to work.

The Check Out All Articles button in the Elements panel

Closing an article and saving all made changes (check-in)

When finished working on the article, it needs to be saved to Enterprise and closed. This process is referred to as 'checking-in' the article and makes the article available to other users for editing.

Two methods exist: with and without the Check-in dialog box appearing.

Method #1: Check-in using the Check-in dialog box

Use this method if you want to change any of the properties of the article.

Step 1. Select one or more articles by:

  • Selecting one of the frames of the article on the layout
  • Selecting the article or one of its components in the Elements panel

Step 2. Check-in the article by doing one of the following:

  • Choose Smart Connection > Check In Article....
  • Click the Check In Article... button in the Elements panel.
  • From the flyout menu of the Elements panel, choose Check In Article....
  • Right-click an article or article component in the Elements panel and choose Check In Article... from the context menu.
  • Right-click the text frame on the layout and choose Check Out Article.

The Check-in dialog box appears.

The Check-in dialog box for articles

Step 3. (Optional) In the Name box, modify the article name or leave the original name.

How duplicate file names are handled in Enterprise 9

The settings for Brand and Issue cannot be changed.

Step 4. (Optional) Change any of the remaining properties.

Step 5. Click OK.

When multiple articles were selected, a Check-in dialog box for the next article is displayed until all articles are checked-in. Repeat steps 3 to 5 until no more dialog boxes appear.

Method #2: Check-in without using the Check-in dialog box

Use this method when you know that you don't want to change any of the properties of the article. During this process, the Check-in dialog box will not appear. This makes the process very quick, especially when checking-in multiple articles.

Note: This process checks-in all articles that have been opened for editing; it is not possible to check-in individual articles while leaving others open for editing.

  • Click the 'Check In All Articles' button in the Elements panel. No articles or frames need to be selected for this to work.

The Check-in All Articles button in the Elements panel

Closing an article without saving the changes (abort check-out)

Use this method when:

  • You have opened the article for editing by mistake or decided that you don't want to work on it
  • You want to close the article without saving any changes that you have made

This method is known as the 'abort check-out' action. It closes the article and returns it to the state it was in before it was checked-out.

Step 1. Select one or more articles by:

  • Selecting one of the frames of the article on the layout
  • Selecting the article or one of its components in the Elements panel

Step 2. Abort Check-out the article by doing one of the following:

  • Choose Smart Connection > Abort Check Out Article.
  • From the flyout menu of the Elements panel, choose Abort Check Out.
  • Right-click an article or article component in the Elements panel and choose Abort Check Out from the context menu.
  • Right-click the text frame on the layout and choose Abort Check Out.

A message appears:

Are you sure you want to abort check out and lose your changes?

The abort check-out message

Step 3. Click Yes.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful / Created: / Updated:
Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.