WoodWing Help Center

Closing or saving an article using Smart Connection for InCopy

Closing or saving an article using Smart Connection for InCopy

While working on an article in InCopy, you can:

Info: The information presented here applies to the following versions of Smart Connection:

  • Smart Connection 9
  • Smart Connection for Adobe CC
  • Smart Connection for Adobe CC 2014

The following table shows a summary of these actions.

Action Description Article is saved? Version of article is stored in Enterprise? Article is closed?
File > Save The article is saved on the local system only, not on Enterprise. Yes No No
Smart Connection > Save Article Version... A version of the article is saved on Enterprise. Yes Yes No

File > Save Article As...

Smart Connection > Save Article As...

A new file is created in Enterprise based on the current article. The new article is opened, the current article is closed.

Yes Yes

Yes 1

File > Save Article As > Browse The article is saved outside of Enterprise. Yes 2 No No
Smart Connection > Check In Article... The article is saved in Enterprise, closed and made available to other users for editing. Yes Yes

Yes

Smart Connection > Close All for Offline Usage The article can be edited without being connected to Enterprise. Yes No No
Smart Connection > Abort Check Out The article is closed and returned to its last saved state. No No Yes
File > Close The article is closed. Yes 3 Yes Yes

1 The new version of the article is opened for editing.

2 Not in Enterprise.

3 The article in Enterprise is updated with any changes that were made since the article was last saved in Enterprise.

Saving the changes locally

Saving your changes regularly is important and makes sure that you don't loose any changes should you encounter any problems. To save your changes locally, do one of the following:

  • Press Cmd+S (Mac OS) or Ctrl+S (Windows)
  • Choose File > Save

Note: Saving your article locally does not save it to Enterprise. It will only be saved to Enterprise if you use one of the other methods listed below.

Saving the changes to Enterprise as a new article version and continue editing the article

Use this method to save the made changes to Enterprise while keeping the article open to continue working on it. During this process, a new version of the article is saved to Enterprise.

Step 1. Choose Smart Connection > Save Article Version....

The Save dialog box appears.

The Save dialog box

Step 2. (Optional) Change any of the properties of the article.

How duplicate file names are handled in Enterprise 9

Step 3. Click OK.

Saving and closing the article and continue working on a copy of the article

Use this method when you want to save and close the current article as it is and continue working on a copy of the article.

Step 1. Do one of the following:

  • Choose File > Save Article As
  • Choose Smart Connection > Save Article As
  • Use a keyboard shortcut for any of the above mentioned commands

The Save As dialog box appears.

The Save As dialog box

Step 2. In the Name box, enter a descriptive name.

How duplicate file names are handled in Enterprise 9

Step 3. (Optional) Change any of the properties of the article.

Step 4. From the Dossier list, choose one of the following options:

  • Choose the blank option to not add the article to a Dossier
  • Choose New Dossier to create a Dossier with the same name as the article and automatically add the article to the Dossier.
  • Choose an existing Dossier to add the article to it.

Step 5. (Optional) In the Comment box, add a comment. When a user will next open the file, the comment will be displayed on screen.

Step 6. Click OK.

The following actions take place:

  • The current article is stored in Enterprise and closed. It is available to other users for editing.
  • A copy of the article is made and stored in Enterprise. It is opened for editing.

Checking-in the article and closing it

When finished working on the article, it needs to be saved to Enterprise and closed. This process is referred to as 'checking-in' the article and makes the article available to other users for editing.

Step 1. Choose Smart Connection > Check In Article... .

The Check In dialog box appears.

The Check-in dialog box

Note: When the article is not yet saved to Enterprise, the Save As dialog box appears instead. See Adding an article (template) to Enterprise using Smart Connection for InCopy.

Step 2. (Optional) In the Name box, modify the article name or leave the original name.

How duplicate file names are handled in Enterprise 9

The settings for Brand, Issue, and Category cannot be changed.

Step 3. (Optional) Change any of the remaining properties.

Step 4. Click OK.

Working on the article without being connected to Enterprise

Use this method when you know beforehand that a connection to Enterprise — typically over the Internet — is not available, for example when working while commuting or when on location.

This method is known as 'taking the article offline'. During this process, the article is saved locally and remains checked-out of Enterprise so that other users cannot edit it.

To take the article offline, do the following:

  • Choose Smart Connection > Close All for Offline Usage.

Accessing offline articles

Articles that you have taken offline can be accessed by choosing Offline in the Search menu of the Smart Connection panel.

The Offline mode of the Smart Connection panel

Figure: When choosing 'Offline' in the Search menu of the Smart Connection panel, all articles that you have taken offline are shown.

Bringing articles online again

To bring a article online again, simply open it when a connection to Enterprise is active.

Saving the article outside of Enterprise

Use this method when you want to save the article locally for future use.

Step 1. Choose File > Save Article As... .

The Save As dialog box appears.

Step 2. Click the Browse... button at the bottom of the dialog box.

The Browse button in the Save As dialog box

Step 3. Browse to the desired location and click Save.

The file is saved as a .wcml file and kept open for editing.

Closing the article and returning it to its last saved state without saving a version

Use this method when:

  • You have opened the article by mistake or decided that you don't want to work on it
  • You want to close the article without saving any changes that you have made

This method is known as the 'abort check-out' action. It closes the article and returns it to its last saved state in Enterprise: the state after checking-in the article or after saving a version of the article.

The difference with regular save actions is that no version of the article is saved. It thereby prevents that different versions of the article exist in Enterprise that are in fact identical.

To perform this action, do the following:

  • Choose Smart Connection > Abort Check Out.

One of the following actions occur:

  • When no changes were made, the article is closed immediately.
  • When the article was changed, a message appears. Click Yes to continue:

Are you sure you want to close this file without saving the made changes?

The Abort Check-out confirmation message

Closing the article without updating the properties

Use this method when you want to close the article without bringing up the Check In dialog box.

To perform this action, do the following:

  • Choose File > Close.

One of the following actions occur:

  • When no changes were made, the article is closed immediately.
  • When the article was changed, a message appears. Click Yes to continue:

Save changes to the Adobe InCopy document "<document name>" before closing?

The close document confirmation message

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 1 found this helpful / Created: / Updated:
Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.