Elvis DAM Drive - FAQ
Note: Elvis Drive is removed since Elvis 4.6, please read: Adobe Drive support ended.
Q: Users get an error when trying to connect the Elvis Drive
Have a look at:
And make sure the user you are trying to connect with has the capability ROLE_DRIVE_CLIENT assigned.
Q: Can I disable versioning?
You can use the following query to the config.properties.txt make sure no versions are saved:
Q: Can I still use the desktop client check out mechanism?
Yes you can enable the check out mechanism by adding the following to the config.properties.txt and make sure that users get the correct capabilities.
# When false, ROLE_CHECKOUT will not be available. # # Set to true if you want to allow users to use the AIR Client checkout mechanism. # Make sure you assign ROLE_CHECKOUT to the users that need to use the desktop client # checkout mechanism. # # This setting also affects super users. enableAirCheckouts=true # When false, ROLE_CHECKOUT will be denied for all users that have ROLE_DRIVE_CLIENT. # Even if ROLE_CHECKOUT is assigned to them using 'Manage permissions'. # # If you want to allow users to use both the desktop clients 'Elvis Checkouts' folder # and Elvis Drive, set this to true. Doing so is NOT ADVISED. # # This setting also affects super users. allowAirCheckoutsWhenUserHasDriveAccess=false
Using the Elvis Drive
Q: Not all assets visible in the desktop client are visible on my Elvis Drive?
Only files that have both view and use original permissions are visible on the Elvis Drive. The desktop client shows all files for which you have view permissions.
Elvis Drive will show all folders, as long as you have view permissions for them.
Q: Why are Elvis collections are not visible on the Elvis Drive?
The current release does not show collections on the Elvis Drive.
Q: When I drag a file from the desktop client into InDesign how does it link the file?
When you drag a file from the desktop client while your Elvis Drive is connected, it will automatically drag a reference to the file. You can check this in the InDesign links panel. It will show the location of the linked file located on the Elvis Drive.
Since InDesign is is tightly integrated with Adobe Drive, it recognizes the link to be on an Adobe Drive volume. This means the link always works, as long as the user opening the InDesign document has an Elvis Drive mounted and has "use original" permissions on all linked files.
Q: Can I check out a file on the Elvis Drive with the desktop client?
Checking out a file on the Elvis Drive is automatically done by InDesign, Photoshop and Illustrator, as soon as you make a modification to the file. You can also check out files on the drive manually using Bridge, Explorer or Finder.
There is also an option to check out files through the desktop client in the context menu of a selected item.
Q: Can I check a file in from the Elvis Drive with the desktop client?
No, checking in a file on the Elvis Drive is automatically done by InDesign, Photoshop and Illustrator, as soon as you make a modification to the file. You can also check in files on the drive manually using Bridge, Explorer or Finder.
Q: What does the Adobe Drive "offline editing" option mean?
This option can be turned on in the Adobe Drive connect panel when you connect to an Elvis Drive.
When turned on, the Elvis Drive volume stays available when you are no longer connected with the server. For example when taking your laptop with you, so you are no longer connected to the server at your office. While disconnected, only the files and folders that you checked out will be available on your Elvis Drive. You can continue working on these checked out files locally.
When you are online again, you can check in your modifications.
Q: Can I use the Elvis Drive from remote locations?
Yes, the Elvis Drive uses standard HTTP/HTTPS connection for all communication with the Elvis server, similar to the desktop client.
Note: Elvis Drive cannot be used with non-verified SSL certificates.
When working remote, network bandwidth will be the limiting factor. So if your internet connection is slow, working with larger files will be an issue. Make sure the bandwidth of the remote location is sufficient.
Q: Can I work with large files on the Elvis Drive?
Yes, though transfer speed is lower compared to the Elvis desktop application. Opening the file will download it once, after that it well be read from your the Adobe Drive cache on your local machine. If an application only reads part of the file, only that part is downloaded. When you save changes to a file, those are saved on your local disk. The file will only be uploaded to the Elvis server when you check it in.
When working with large files, it is advised to increase the size of the Adobe Drive cache. This can be done through the Adobe Drive connect panel.
The download and upload speed are limited by the bandwidth of your network connection. So make sure you are using gigabit network to connect your Elvis Drive to the Elvis server. Other factors that can influence download and upload speed are the speed of the hard disk in your client machine and the speed of the hard disk used in the server.
Q: When does Elvis create a new version of a file?
A new version is created whenever you check in a file. This works both through the desktop client and Elvis Drive.
Q: Can I 'place' an older version of an image in an InDesign file without restoring it?
No. You should save the version as a new file first. This can be done in the history tab by using the "Save as new" button. Place the new file in InDesign as usual.