WoodWing Help Center

Closing or saving a layout using Smart Connection

Closing or saving a layout using Smart Connection

While working on an layout in InDesign, you can:

Info: The information presented here applies to the following versions of Smart Connection:

  • Smart Connection 9
  • Smart Connection for Adobe CC
  • Smart Connection for Adobe CC 2014

The following table shows a summary of these actions.

Action Description Layout is saved? Version of layout is stored in Enterprise? Layout is closed?
File > Save The layout is saved on the local system only, not on Enterprise. Yes No No
Smart Connection > Save Version... A version of the layout is saved on Enterprise. Yes Yes No

File > Save As

Smart Connection > Save As

A new file is created in Enterprise based on the current layout. The new layout is opened, the current layout is closed.

Yes Yes

Yes 1

File > Save As > Browse The layout is saved outside of Enterprise. Yes 2 No No
Smart Connection > Check In The layout is saved in Enterprise, closed and made available to other users for editing. Yes Yes

Yes

Smart Connection > Close for Offline Usage The layout can be edited without being connected to Enterprise. Yes No No
Smart Connection > Abort Check Out The layout is closed and returned to its last saved state. No No Yes
File > Close The layout is closed. Yes 3 Yes Yes

1 The new version of the layout is opened for editing.

2 Not in Enterprise.

3 The layout in Enterprise is updated with any changes that were made since the layout was last saved in Enterprise.

Saving the changes locally

Saving your changes regularly is important and makes sure that you don't loose any changes should you encounter any problems. To save your changes locally, do one of the following:

  • Press Cmd+S (Mac OS) or Ctrl+S (Windows)
  • Choose File > Save

Note: Saving your layout locally does not save it to Enterprise. It will only be saved to Enterprise if you use one of the other methods listed below.

Saving the changes to Enterprise as a new layout version and continue editing the layout

Use this method to save the made changes to Enterprise while keeping the layout open to continue working on it. During this process, a new version of the layout is saved to Enterprise.

Step 1. Choose Smart Connection > Save Version....

The Save dialog box appears.

The Save dialog box

Step 2. (Optional) Change any of the properties of the layout.

How duplicate file names are handled in Enterprise 9

Step 3. Click OK.

Saving and closing the layout and continue working on a copy of the layout

Use this method when you want to save and close the current layout as it is and continue working on a copy of the layout.

Step 1. Do one of the following:

  • Choose File > Save As
  • Choose Smart Connection > Save As
  • Use a keyboard shortcut for any of the above mentioned commands

The Save As dialog box appears.

The Save As dialog box for a layout

Step 2. In the Name box, enter a descriptive name.

How duplicate file names are handled in Enterprise 9

Step 3. (Optional) Change any of the properties of the layout.

Step 4. From the Dossier list, choose one of the following options:

  • Choose the blank option to not add the layout to a Dossier
  • Choose New Dossier to create a Dossier with the same name as the layout and automatically add the layout to the Dossier.
  • Choose an existing Dossier to add the layout to it.

Step 5. (Optional) Save the layout as a template, Layout Module or Layout Module Template by selecting the options Save as Template and/or Save as Layout Module.

Step 6. (Optional) In the Comment box, add a comment. When a user will next open the file, the comment will be displayed on screen.

Step 7. Click OK.

The following actions take place:

  • The current layout is stored in Enterprise and closed. It is available to other users for editing.
  • A copy of the layout is made and stored in Enterprise. It is opened for editing.

Checking-in the layout and closing it

When finished working on the layout, it needs to be saved to Enterprise and closed. This process is referred to as 'checking-in' the layout and makes the layout available to other users for editing.

Step 1. Choose Smart Connection > Check In... .

The Check In dialog box appears.

The Check In dialog for layouts

Note: When the layout is not yet saved to Enterprise, the Save As dialog box appears instead. See Creating a new layout or adding an existing layout using Smart Connection.

Step 2. (Optional) In the Name box, modify the layout name or leave the original name.

How duplicate file names are handled in Enterprise 9

The settings for Brand, Issue, and Category cannot be changed.

Step 3. (Optional) Change any of the remaining properties.

Step 4. Click OK.

Working on the layout without being connected to Enterprise

Use this method when you know beforehand that a connection to Enterprise — typically over the Internet — is not available, for example when working while commuting or when on location.

This method is known as 'taking the layout offline'. During this process, the layout is saved locally and remains checked-out of Enterprise so that other users cannot edit it.

To take the layout offline, do the following:

  • Choose Smart Connection > Close for Offline Usage.

Accessing offline layouts

Layouts that you have taken offline can be accessed by choosing Offline in the Search menu of the Smart Connection panel.

The Offline option in the Smart Connection panel.

Figure: When choosing 'Offline' in the Search menu of the Smart Connection panel, all layouts that you have taken offline are shown.

Bringing layouts online again

To bring a layout online again, simply open it when a connection to Enterprise is active.

Saving the layout outside of Enterprise

Use this method when you want to save the layout locally for future use.

Step 1. Choose File > Save As... .

The Save As dialog box appears.

Step 2. Click the Browse... button at the bottom of the dialog box.

The Browse button in the Save As dialog box

Step 3. Browse to the desired location and click Save.

One of two scenarios can occur:

Scenario 1: the layout does not contain placed graphics

When the layout does not contain any placed graphics or Layout Modules that are stored in Enterprise, the file is saved.

Scenario 2: the layout contains placed graphics

When the layout contains placed graphics or Layout Modules that are stored in Enterprise, a message appears advising to abort the action and to use the InDesign Package option so that the graphic links are maintained:

You are about to save a document locally that carries placed database files.
If you continue, these files will be unlinked and removed from the document.
We recommend to abort this action and use the InDesign package functionality instead.

Warning when saving a file locally

Figure: A message appears when trying to save a layout containing placed database files.

The names of the placed graphic files are listed below the text.

Step 3. Do one of the following:

  • Click OK to locally save the layout and to break the link with the database graphics.
  • Click Cancel to close the message and to not save the layout locally. To use the InDesign package feature, choose File > Package.

Closing the layout and returning it to its last saved state without saving a version

Use this method when:

  • You have opened the layout by mistake or decided that you don't want to work on it
  • You want to close the layout without saving any changes that you have made

This method is known as the 'abort check-out' action. It closes the layout and returns it to its last saved state in Enterprise: the state after checking-in the layout or after saving a version of the layout.

The difference with regular save actions is that no version of the layout is saved. It thereby prevents that different versions of the layout exist in Enterprise that are in fact identical.

To perform this action, do the following:

  • Choose Smart Connection > Abort Check Out.

One of the following actions occur:

  • When no changes were made, the layout is closed immediately.
  • When the layout was changed, a message appears:

Are you sure you want to close this file without saving the made changes?

The Abort Checkout message

Closing the layout without updating the properties

Use this method when you want to close the layout without bringing up the Check In dialog box.

To perform this action, do the following:

  • Choose File > Close.

One of the following actions occur:

  • When no changes were made, the layout is closed immediately.
  • When the layout was changed, a message appears. Click Yes to continue:

Save changes to document "<document name>" before closing?

The close layout confirmation message

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful / Created: / Updated:
Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.