Controlling geometry changes of planned Adverts in Smart Connection for InDesign
Planned Adverts are initially created in a Planning System where their location within the publication is determined: the position on the page that they are placed on and the dimensions (width and height) of the frame.
When subsequently opening the layout in InDesign, a user can move the frame to another position on the page or change the dimensions of the frame. As a result, a discrepancy exists with the settings of the Advert in the Planning System and those on the layout in InDesign.
To make sure that the settings of the Planning System are leading and that each change that is made to the Advert in InDesign is reverted, enable the following setting:
Info: The information presented here applies to the following versions of Smart Connection:
Show me how I can check which version of Smart Connection I have installed
- File: WWSettings.xml file
- Name of option: RespectPlannedAdvertGeometry
- Location: anywhere between the
- When the option is enabled, the location and dimension of the Advert as defined by the Planning System is always respected. Geometry changes that are made by the user are not accepted. If changes are made, the last planned geometry of the Advert is restored when the layout is checked in and will become visible the next time the layout is opened.
- When the option is not enabled, the user is allowed to change the location and dimension of the Advert.
Important: Make sure to validate the WWSettings.xml file for correct content. See Validating the WWSettings.xml file.
- Moving the Advert to another page is never accepted (regardless of how the Respect Planned Advert Geometry option is set).
- Moving the image inside the Advert page item (the frame) is always accepted (regardless of how the Respect Planned Advert Geometry option is set).
- An environment can exist where for one user the feature is enabled while for another it is disabled. When the user for whom the feature is enabled opens a layout, any planned adverts that were repositioned are reset. This behavior is as designed. However, a situation in which 2 (InDesign) users will have different settings should normally not be supported.