Editing an article in the Print editor is one of the ways of working with articles in Content Station.
Using the Print editor is straight forward and self explanatory. Some points to be aware of are listed below.
Figure: The Print editor of Content Station with the Edit window (A), the Preview window (B), article components (C) and the Status bar (D).
Note: For article components that contain an image, only the text can be edited. The image is shown as an icon and cannot be edited.
Saving your work
Depending on how Content Station is configured, any changes you make are either automatically saved or you need to save them manually.
When auto save is used
In this default configuration all your changes are automatically saved for you. When navigating out of the editor while changes are not yet saved, the article is automatically checked-in.
When not working on the article for a short period of time, the article is automatically checked in.
Note: This means that another user can open that same article for editing, thereby preventing you from making changes to the article even though you still have it open on screen. You will see a message appear when this situation occurs. You will also see a message when the article is available for editing again.
When changes need to be saved manually
In this configuration, the article is never automatically saved. It needs to be manually saved by checking-in the article or by manually saving a version. When checking in the article, it is also closed.
When navigating out of the editor while changes are not yet saved, you are informed that any changes will be lost should you continue when not first saving these changes.
For articles that are placed on a layout, a preview is automatically shown. When making changes to the text, the preview is automatically updated.
The article that you are editing is automatically highlighted in the preview, while the article component that you are editing is further emphasized by a border.
Figure: For articles that are placed on a layout, a preview is shown which automatically updates when making changes to the text. To better see where on the layout the article is placed, it is automatically highlighted in the Preview window while the article component that you are editing is shown with an extra border.
Take note of the following features:
- To switch between single page view or spread view, use the options in the menu in the top right corner of the layout preview.
Figure: Switching between single page view and spread view can be done by using the menu in the top right corner.
- To zoom in on an article component in the layout preview, click the menu next to a component in the editor and click the eye icon.
Figure: Open the menu next to an article component and click the eye icon (A) to zoom in on that component in the layout preview.
- When placing the cursor in an article component in the Edit window, the corresponding component in the Preview window is automatically selected (with a small animation).
- When double-clicking an article component on the layout preview which belongs to the article that is currently being edited, the cursor is placed in the corresponding article component in the Edit window. The article component in the editor is briefly highlighted
- Article highlighting can be turned off or on again through the menu in the top right corner of the layout preview.
For objects that cannot be displayed in the text, the following icons are shown instead:
Applying a paragraph style or a character style to some text can be done by accessing the Styles panel.