WoodWing Help Center

Deleting and restoring files in Content Station 10

Deleting and restoring files in Content Station 10

When working on a file in Content Station 10 that is not needed anymore, it can be moved to the Trash Can. From there, it can either be permanently deleted or it can be restored to its original location.

This article describes how to delete and restore files in Content Station 10.

Info: This feature requires Content Station 10.27 or higher.

Requirements

Using this feature requires the following permissions to be set in your Access Profile:

  • For moving files to the Trash Can:
  • File access > Delete
  • For permanently deleting files:
  • File access > Delete permanently

Moving files to the Trash Can

Step 1. Select one or more files anywhere in Content Station, and do one of the following:

  • Right-click a file and choose Move to Trash Can from the context menu.

A message appears asking to confirm the action:

Are you sure you want to move the selected files to the Trash Can?

Confirmation message for moving a file to the Trash Can

Step 2. Click Yes, move files.

Managing deleted files

When a file is moved to the Trash Can, it is not yet deleted but is still present in the system. Files can either be permanently deleted from the Trash Can or restored to their original location.

Accessing the Trash Can

From the Apps menu in the top-right of the page, choose Trash Can.

The Apps menu

Figure: The Apps menu.

The Trash Can

Figure: The Trash Can.

Filtering files

By default, all files in the Trash Can are shown. Use the Filter on the left side of the page to only show files that belong to a certain Brand or Issue, are of a certain type, have been deleted on a certain date, and so on.

Permanently deleting files

Do one of the following:

  • To delete all files in the Trash Can in one action, click Delete all files in the top right corner of the page.

Note: This will delete ALL files, not only the files that are currently shown (in case the Filter is used)

  • Select one or more files, right-click a file and choose Delete permanently.

A message appears asking to confirm the action:

Are you sure you want to permanently delete the selected files?

This action cannot be undone.

Confirm to permanently delete files

Step 4. Click Yes.

Restoring files

To restore a file to its original location, select one or more files, right-click a file and choose Restore.

The files are automatically restored and shown in a new Browser tab. This allows you to quickly start working on the file without having to search for it in the system.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful / Created: / Updated:
Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.