WoodWing Help Center

Controlling user access to folders and assets in Elvis 6

Controlling user access to folders and assets in Elvis 6

Users access the assets that are stored in Elvis by making use of any of the client applications such as the Pro client, the Brand portal or the InDesign client.

Before they can do this, they need to be given access to these clients and the stored assets. This is done by adding the users or user groups to Elvis and subsequently defining Permissions for these users or user groups. Such Permissions control access to:

  1. Client applications and their features
  2. Folders and assets in Elvis
  3. Metadata fields
  4. Presets for downloading images

This article describes how to control user access to folders and assets.

Rules

Access to folders and/or assets and controlling the actions that can be performed on them is done through 'Rules'.

The process of managing Rules comes in two parts:

  1. Setting up a Rule. Here you will define the folders and/or assets that should be given access to.
  2. Assigning a Rule to users or user groups. Here you will define which actions can be performed on the folders and/or assets.

Managing Rules

Managing Rules is done on the User page or the User Groups pages of the Management Console.

Step 1. Access the Management Console by doing one of the following:

<Elvis Server URL>/console

  • Access the Elvis Pro client through the following URL, log in using system administrator credentials, and choose Management Console from the Avatar menu.

<Elvis Server URL>/app

The Management Console option in the Avatar menu

Step 2. In the menu on the left of the page, choose Permissions followed by User Groups or Users.

The Users page

Figure: The Users page in the Management Console.

Setting up a Rule

Before you can assign a Rule, it needs to be set up.

This can be done in the following ways:

  • By specifying a folder within the Elvis structure. Access will then be granted to the folder including all its sub folders and assets.
  • By constructing a metadata query. This is a way of fine-tuning access, for instance by only allowing access to files that have a status of 'Production'.
  • By specifying a folder and constructing a metadata query. Similar to the separate rules above, but now combined into one rule.

Setting up a Rule can be done either on the User Groups page or the Users page. Any Rule that is created on one page is also available on the other page.

Step 1. Access the User page or the User Group page.

Step 2. Select Rules from the menu.

The Rules option in the menu

Step 3. Do one of the following:

  • Create a new Rule by clicking the + sign at the bottom of the lists of presets
  • Edit an existing Rule by clicking it

The Rule window appears.

Step 4. Make sure that the Rule information tab is selected.

The New Rule window

Step 5. Set up your Rule by entering a descriptive name, setting up a folder restriction, setting up a query restriction, or setting up combined folder and query restriction.

Step 6. (Optional) Test your Rule by clicking Test query.

Step 7. Click Next.

The Permissions tab appears for assigning the Rule to users or user groups.

The Permissions tab

Step 8. Continue by following the Assigning a Rule section below.

Assigning a Rule

Rules are assigned to users and user groups as part of assigning Permissions. This is done in the User Groups or Users page in the Management console.

Note: Applying rules to users affects the time it takes to do searches and get search results. Assigning many or complex rules to a single user or user group will negatively impact search performance for that user or user group.

Step 1. On the Users page or on the User Groups page, click a Rule that you want to assign to a user or user group.

Tip: Use the Filter to quickly find a user or user group.

The Rule window is shown with the Permissions tab opened, showing all users and user groups (if any) to which the Rule is currently assigned.

Step 2. Click the + sign.

The Select users and groups window appears.

Selecting users and groups

Step 3. Select one or more users or user groups and click Add.

Step 4. For each user or user group that was added, define what they are allowed to do by selecting or clearing the available check boxes. For an explanation of each option, see Permission types below.

Tip: Hover the mouse over an icon to see a short explanation about that option.

Step 5. When done, click Save.

Permission types

Icon Option Details
The View icon View

Allows users to view content.

Note: Be careful assigning View permissions to Rules that only contain a query restriction (and not a folder restriction). Doing so allows users to view all assets, including those in other users' zones (a long as the assets match the query).

View preview Allows user to view content in ‘preview’ size.
Hide Watermark (Only available when applying watermarks to images is enabled in Elvis Server). Allows users to see images without a watermark.
Use original

(Can only be set when 'Hide watermarks' is also set, see above.) Allows the user to perform the following tasks:

  • Download
  • Copy
  • Check-out 1
  • Restoring a previous version of an asset 1

1 Also requires the 'Edit' permission to be set.

Edit metadata

Allows the user to edit metadata of assets, such as modifying data in metadata fields.

Note: Which metadata fields can be edited is controlled by assigning Edit permission for each field.

Edit

Allows the user to perform the following tasks:

  • Opening files for editing (through a process of checking-out and checking-in that file) 1
  • Restoring a previous version of an asset 1
  • Editing Collections (such as adding or removing assets)

1 Also requires the 'Use original' permission to be set.

Rename

Allows user to rename assets or Collections.

Note: To rename folders users need 'Move' permission because it changes the location of all the assets within the folder.

Move

Allows user to move assets or folders.

Note: The user needs to have permission on the source folder and the destination folder.

Create

Allows the user to perform the following tasks:

  • Create content (such as folders or Collections)
  • Import content
Delete Allows the user to delete content, versions of files or Collections.

Examples

In the following examples, 4 Rules have been set up:

  1. A query restriction based on Status = 'Production'
  2. A folder restriction on the Archive folder
  3. A folder restriction on the Images & Video folder
  4. A folder restriction on the Documents folder

Consider that we have the following user groups to assign permissions to:

  • Designers
  • Editors
  • Photographers

During our preparation it was decided that the these groups should have the following permissions:

  • All groups should be able to view content in the Archive folder.
  • Designers should be able to view, preview, create, rename and move content in the Images & Videos folder.
  • Photographers should be able to view, preview, create and rename content in the Images & Videos folder. They should also be able to edit the metadata of their files.
  • Editors should be able to view, preview and create content in the Documents folder.
  • Designers and editors should be able to preview, download, copy, check-out and restore versions of all assets that have the status 'Production' assigned. They should also be able to edit the metadata of these files.

This results in the following setup:

Designers:

Example for designers

Editors:

Example for editors

Photographers:

Example for photographers

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful / Created: / Updated:
Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.