WoodWing Help Center

Controlling user access to clients and client features in Elvis 6

Controlling user access to clients and client features in Elvis 6

Users access the assets that are stored in Elvis by making use of any of the client applications such as the Pro client, the Brand portal or the InDesign client.

Before they can do this, they need to be given access to these clients and the stored assets. This is done by adding the users or user groups to Elvis and subsequently defining Permissions for these users or user groups. Such Permissions control access to:

  1. Client applications and their features
  2. Folders and assets in Elvis
  3. Metadata fields
  4. Presets for downloading images

This article describes how to control user access to the client applications and their features.

Capabilities

Controlling access to a client and its features is done by setting up 'Capabilities'. In it, the following aspects are defined:

  1. The role of the user or user group and the clients that can be accessed
  2. Which features within a client the user or user group can use

Managing Capabilities

Capabilities are assigned to users and user groups as part of assigning Permissions. This is done in the Management Console.

Step 1. Access the Management Console.

The Users page

Figure: The Users page in the Management Console.

Step 2. In the menu on the left of the page, choose Permissions followed by User Groups or Users.

Step 3. Use the search options to search for users and/or user groups.

Step 4. Select the user or user group to which you want to assign a Capability.

Step 5. Set up Capabilities (see below).

1. Setting the user role and client access

The first step is to define the role of the user and the clients that can be accessed.

Both are done by assigning a specific user license.

Notes:

  • Unlike previous versions of Elvis, access to clients is directly linked to the license type; it is not possible to grant or deny access for each client individually.

Setting the role of the user

Role Required license Description Access to clients
Super user Pro The Super user has access to all clients and all of their features, can access all assets and can use all metadata fields. Because such a user has full access, no further settings have to be set (all options are grayed-out). This role is usually only granted to the general ‘admin’ user.

All clients:

  • Pro client
  • Brand portal
  • InDesign client
  • Elvis Server Admin pages
  • Management Console
Unspecified user Unspecified; the license is inherited from the user group that the user is added to.

In a typical workflow, a user will have the Unspecified role assigned and will be added to one or more groups. With the Unspecified role, a user will inherit the user license that is set for the group that they are added to.

Note: When a user is a member of multiple groups with different user license settings, the most feature-rich license will be used. When no user license type is set for a user or one of its groups, the least feature-rich license will be used (a Basic license if available, else a Standard license or else a Pro license).

Depends on the license that is assigned to the group that the user is added to.
Standard user Standard Use this role for asset contributors who mainly need to import and edit assets.

All clients:

  • Pro client
  • Brand portal
  • InDesign client
  • Elvis Server Admin pages
  • Management Console
Basic user Basic Use this role for asset consumers who only need to search, download and share assets.

Brand portal only

API API Use this role when connecting to Elvis Server through an API. Not applicable.

2. Setting access to the client features

The next step is to define the client features that the user can use. Be aware that features may be grayed-out when:

  • The user has the role of 'Super user'. Such users have full access to the system.
  • The chosen license does not allow access to the feature.
Feature Available in Details
Create Share upload Pro client

Allows users to create a Share Link to which a user can upload files.

Also requires the Share feature to be enabled (see below).

Action plug-ins Pro client

Allows users to use plug-ins in the Pro client.

Share Download Presets

Pro client

Brand portal

When enabled, any Download Presets are shared with all users within the group(s) that the user is a member of.

Also required when using the Create Upload Request feature (see below).

Download as

Pro client

Brand portal

Allows users to choose the format in which to download the preview of an asset in (JPG, PNG or TIFF format) and specify settings for the size, resolution and metadata of that downloaded preview.

A preview can only be downloaded for images for which the View Preview rule is set.

Share

Pro client

Brand portal

Allows users to create a Share Link, used for sharing assets with others.

Download

Pro client

Brand portal

Allows users to download assets in the following ways:

  • Download the original asset
  • Download a preview of the asset
  • Download a custom preview of the asset

An asset can only be downloaded when the Use original permission is set for the user. Previews can only be downloaded when the View Preview permission for the user.

Share approve

Pro client

Brand portal

Allows the user to create a Share link, used for letting another user approve or reject assets.

Also requires the Share feature to be enabled.

Used in Pro client Makes the 'Used in Enterprise' panel available which allows users to see where in Enterprise an asset is used.
User zone

Pro client

Brand portal

Grants the user access to a private user folder to which they have full access. This folder is located in the /Users folder and the user account name is used as the folder name.

All users that have access to the Pro client will automatically have a private folder available.

Checkout Pro client

Allows users to open files for editing by checking-out the file, editing it in some way and checking-in the file again.

The user can only check out assets for which they have Edit permission.

Versions Pro client

Allows users to view and restore versions of an asset.

To promote or revert a version, Edit permission is required. To delete a version, Delete permission is required.

This feature is not needed to create a version. Version creation happens automatically when a file is checked in.

Taxonomy Pro client Allows the user to use the Taxonomy panel to easily add metadata from configured taxonomies.
Import Management Console

Allows the user to import assets, for example by using the Bulk Import feature.

The user can only import assets into folders for which they have "CREATE" permissions.

Files can only be imported into folders for which the user has Create permission.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful / Created: / Updated:
Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.