Viewing and restoring file versions using Content Station 10
When saving a file in a particular format to Enterprise, a version of that file is saved. When needed, this version can be restored to make it the current version.
This article describes how to view and restore file versions using Content Station 10 and provides background information about the concept of file versions in Enterprise.
Figure: Viewing versions of a file in Content Station 10.
Viewing and restoring versions
Viewing and restoring file versions in Content Station 10 is done through the Versions panel (see image above). When selecting a file, the panel shows the current versions and all previous versions of that file (if any, and up to a defined maximum, see below).
Access the menu for a file version to access its options:
- Download original
Note: The 'Restore' option is not available for the current file version.
File types for which versions are saved
A version of a file is saved for the following file types:
- InDesign layouts
- InDesign layout templates
- Layout Modules
- InDesign libraries
- InCopy articles
- InCopy article templates
- Text files (plain and HTML)
- Audio files
Note: Saving a version of a file can be done by any user of Enterprise, including users of InDesign and InCopy; it is not restricted to users of Content Station 10.
When is a version stored?
A version of a file is stored when one of the following actions take place:
- Save Version
- Changing the Workflow Status (off by default, only when enabled by your administrator)
Number of versions available
By default, a specific number of versions are stored per file type.
Number of versions
|Layout Module template||5|
When the maximum number of versions for a file type is reached, the oldest version is removed to make place for the newest version.
Example: 10 versions of an article are saved: versions 1 to 10. The next time an article is saved, the oldest version (version 1) is removed to make room for the newly saved version.
Note for system administrators: These values can be changed by configuring Enterprise Server.
About version numbers
All version numbers are presented in a “major.minor” notation.
Example: Version '1.2' means major version '1' and minor version '2'.
Each time a file is saved, either the major version number or the minor version number is increased (depending on how the system is configured).